Chesapeake ASSP Award Recipients

Nominations are now open for Chesapeake Chapter Safety Professional of the Year (SPY).  The Chapter SPY award is an honor acknowledging the dedication and outstanding contributions of a member to the Chapter. Completed nomination forms and attachments are due no later than 5:00 pm EDT August 30, 2021. Email to

YearSafety Professional of the YearPast President AwardVeditz Award (volunteer)Corporate Partner
2021Ned Fitter                Mary DoyleMcLean
2019No Award Mike GintherJMT
2018Joseph Opauski not awardedJohns Hopkins Applied Physics Lab
2017Laura Wickersham Jim LewisGray & Son / Maryland Paving, Inc.
2016Robb AltenburgPatrick Wheltlenot awarded 
2015Patricia Raven Leslie York 
2014Patricia Raven   
2013Mike Wolf   
2012Dave Shacreaw   
2010Bob Lawson Michael Wolf 
2009Craig Lowry   
2008John Lanigan   
2007Peter Holzberg   
2006Mike Ginther   
2005Jim Lewis   
2004Fred Miller, Jr.   
2003Maryellen Harper   
2002John Rekus   
2001John Maynard   
2000Daniel Souders   
1999Joseph Gillian   
1997E. Linwood Davis   
1996Stephen Wallace   
1995Joseph Gillian   
1994Emory Knowles   
1993Donald Canuel   
1992Robert Short   
1991Francis Valentino   
1989Ronald Tognocchi   
1988Philip Pedone   
1987Bert Behringer   
1986Harry Veditz   
1985Martin Mossa   
1984Samuel Clauss   
1983Gordon Betz   
1982Ralph Wray